Log in

Letter from the President

I am honored to be President-Elect of DCPA and lucky to be in such a position during a time when the atmosphere and culture of the association is one that is welcoming, open, and inclusive as well as aware of trends such as diversity, globalization, and international concerns. Especially the needs of two sectors – the Washington, DC region and the advancement of the profession of psychology. The DC region is very diverse with various needs including psychological services to help assure the wellbeing of individuals from varied socio-economic groups, life styles, and countries of origin.

To meet the needs of the DC region as well as the continued development of DCPA members, the Board of Directors under the leadership of Dr. Steven Stein, has launched 15 committees which, as needed, function as task groups actively involved in the development of initiatives. Some of these initiatives include continuing education programs, professional services initiatives, and a mentoring program for DCPA members who are (1) new to the organization, (2) may be in transition to private practice or from one area or practice specialty to another, and/or (3) may be moving from one organizational setting to another A major launch this past year under the vision and leadership of Dr. Steven Stein has been the DCPA Center for Learning and Professional Development. My goal is to work as a team member with the Board and membership to further develop, engage in awareness activities and implement the programs that are ongoing.

It is noteworthy that individuals who are educated in the field of psychology have, as a result of their education and continuing professional development, a broad range of knowledge, skills, and abilities which they can apply to many areas. These areas include, but are not limited to, functioning as employees and consultants in private practice, in healthcare, educational, government related, and business organizations as clinicians, educators, and researchers. A goal of the DCPA Board, with plans and implementation already starting, is engagement in initiatives that are designed to increase awareness of the full range of capabilities that psychologists offer to the marketplace.

R. Mallory Starr, Ph.D.

Letter from the Past President

It is both an honor and pleasure to be President of DCPA.  I believe that this time is one of vitality and expansion. I am fortunate to be President at a time when our committees and professional development programs are actively working to achieve this.


It is my hope to work toward accessing the energy and wisdom of the psychological community, where DCPA becomes a hub for the development of programs and activities that advance the science and practice of psychology, the well being of psychologists, and other mental health professionals, as well as the general public.


It is my impression that these committees and programs serve as a driving force to operationalize the overall objectives of the association.  They provide passion, energy, direction and focus and serve as a vehicle to actualize the potential for both the individual membership and the association. 


The committees are specifically designed to meet the needs and interests of the membership and the community. The Professional Development, Early Career Psychologists and Student committees create programs and training experiences, which enhance the practice of psychology and serve as a forum for the exchange of ideas and acquisition of the collective wisdom and energy of the community. The Ethics & Social Justice, Life Enhancement, and Legislative Advisory committees seek to secure the well being of the membership and the community.


It is my goal to actively encourage interest and engagement in DCPA for members to use the association in pursuit of their best interest and personal and professional enhancement.  It is my hope for the DCPA to become not only what we are now, but what we can be when we join together and embrace a harmony of purpose and unity of community.


Stephen Stein, Ph.D.

DCPA Past Presidents 

1947  Thelma Hunt

1948  Isabelle Kendig

1949  Charles N. Cofer

1950 Harry J. Older

1951  Joseph M. Bobbit

1952  Dael Wolfle

1953  T. G. Andrews

1954  Denzel D. Smith

1955  John W. Stafford

1956  Leonard Carmichael

1957  Howard E. Page

1958  Joan H. Criswell

1959  Max Meenes

1960  Max Houtchens

1961  Luigi Petrullo

1962  Charles W. Bray

1963  Robert S. Waldrop

1964  Maurice Lorr

1965  Bertha H. Cory

1966  Joseph B. Margolin 

1967  Malcolm L. Meltzer

1968  A. G. Bayroff

1969  Bernard I. Levy

1970  Jonathan W. Cummings

1971  William A. McClelland

1972  Allen Raskin

1973  Helen E. Peixotto

1974  John J. O’Hare

1975  Margaret Ives

1976  Lee Gurel

1977  Richard P. Youniss

1978  John F. Borriello

1979  Eugene C. Stammeyer

1980  Alfred M. Wellner

1981  Barbara U. Hammer

1982  Sherman Ross

1983  Mary Faith Tanney

1984  Leonard W. Allen

1985  Richard H. Mikesell

1986  John F. Borriello

1987  Marilyn Sue Bogner

1988  Frank Uhlmann

1989  Fred Strassburger

1990  Donna M. Cooper

1991  Jane A. Taylor

1992  Ronald D. Wynne

1993  Lynne M. Hornyak

1994  Alan M. Orenstein

1995  Mildred W. Goldstone

1996  Larney R. Gump

1997  EBowelsileen F. Buese

1998  Michael T. McDermott

1999  Mary L. Froning

2000  R. Mark Binderman

2001  Robert K. Madsen

2002  Stephen Lally

2003  Michael Haley

2004  Barbara T. Roberts

2005  Robert Barret

2006  Rona Fields

2007  Undesignated term

2008 James E. Savage Jr.

2009  Walter Hillabrant

2010  Walter Hillabrant

2011  Stephen Bowles

2012  Anthony A. Jimenez

2013  Anthony A. Jimenez

2014  Stephen Stein

2015  Stephen Stein

2016  Stephen Stein 

2017 Mallory Starr 

2018 Mallory Starr

2019 Suzan Stafford

2020 Suzan Stafford

Our Mission

The D.C. Psychological Association (DCPA) works to advance psychology as a source for the promotion of public welfare and human dignity.

Become a member

Join DCPA as a professional, student, or retired member.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software